UCT's new information-finding solution
The University of Cape Town Libraries has gone live with a world-class information-finding solution, Primo.
Savvy Researcher
Savvy Researcher Series 2018
Have a Question?
Have any questions about the library? Ask any of our librarians by using our Ask a Librarian Service.


Tuesday, 17 July 2018
Law alumnus Mda Mda, this year’s recipient of the President of Convocation Medal, photographed at his home near Mthatha. Past medal recipients include Dr Kate Philip, Dr Richard (Dick) van der Ross, Anne Templeton, Professor Wiseman Nkuhlu, Justice MM Corbett, and Sir Aaron Klug.
Convocation medal to Mthatha law doyen

Retired Mthatha attorney Mda Mda, who enrolled for a law degree at UCT in 1944, is this year’s recipient of the President of Convocation Medal, awarded annually to an alumnus who has contributed to the common good.

Publication Date:
Monday, December 21, 2015 - 10:45
Debit card
UCT Libraries goes cashless

From January 2016, UCT Libraries has decided to go cashless, and the reasons are three-fold:

to reduce the costs of handling cash across all the libraries (money will be saved on cash collection fees, bank charges and staff resources); to reduce the infrastructure requirements for cash handling and storage and; to reduce the potential physical risk to staff and students.

The move to a cashless environment will make our financial operations more efficient and cost effective.

Publication Date:
Monday, December 21, 2015 - 09:30
Professor Rashida Manjoo
Women in Conflict: Property Rights and Access to Justice

Professor Rashida Manjoo, former  UN Special Rapporteur on Violence against Women, will moderate presentations by Dr Aninka Claasens from UCT’s Centre for Law and Society, Thabisa Ngada from the Gender Commission, Sanja Bornman from the Women’s Legal Centre, and Ms Griessel from the Office of the Public Protector.

Publication Date:
Thursday, August 13, 2015 - 16:00
Professor Penelope (Penny) Andrews
UCT Appoints New Dean of Law

The University of Cape Town has appointed Professor Penelope (Penny) Andrews as the new Dean of the Faculty of Law. She will take up her post in January 2016.

Publication Date:
Friday, July 3, 2015 - 11:00